If you are willing to contribute to this working group, please let us know

DSSWG Committee

Professor Peter Flew, Chair

Associate Pro Vice-Chancellor and Dean of the School of Education, University of Roehampton

Trustee, Royal Academy of Dance

Fiona Becker

Safeguarding Consultant

Mike Hawkins


Former Principle Officer in the UK’s National Crime Agency.

Conference key note speaker on safeguarding and working with young people.

Imogen Knight

Founder, Colours of Dance

Trustee, Royal Academy of Dance

One Dance UK - Sector support organisation

DSSWG Members

Tim Arthur

CEO Royal Academy of Dance

Joanna Barrett

Trustee of Young Dancers Academy

Helen Bushell-Thornalley

Bishop Grossteste University

Mags Byrne

DU Dance (NI)

Nicola Carmichael Phillips

Carmichael School of Dance and Theatre Arts

Ansell Chezan

Executive committee member of UKA Dance

Ann Marie Christian

International Safeguarding Consultant

Tony Clipstone

Director of the English Amateur Dancesport Association (EADA)

Penny Cotton

Head of Membership, Royal Academy of Dance

Steph De'Ath

Head of Dance Science, London Contemporary Dance School

Sarah Dickinson

Head of Ballet, Northern Ballet School

Nicky Ellis

Osteopath, dance teacher and choreographer

Gill Docherty

Educational psychologist and researcher of adult ballet & wellbeing

Joey Gamper Cuthbert

Squad Safe

Jacqueline Harper


Anna Helsby

Director of Registry and Student Wellbeing, London Contemporary Dance School

Lisa Harrison-Jones

ISTD - Head Of Faculty Development for Modern Theatre & Classical Indian

Dance Safeguarding Specialist

Katharine Hikmet

Safeguarding Manager RAD

Pagan Hunt

Freelance dancer

Shelley Isaac-Clarke

Principal of ICA Dance Wales

Rachel Jackson - Weingaertner

RAD Trustee, Examiner, Tutor and Freelance Teacher, Germany

Rachel King

Safeguarding Consultant, Better Understood

Jacquie Kirk

PAA Syllabus Consultant & Senior Examiner RSL Awards Ltd

Carolyn Lappin

Executive Director, YDance

Linda Lear

Safeguarding Lead, All England Dance

Ruby Lilly

Owner, Ruby Lilly Dance Company, Bristol

Rachel Meech


Professor Adam Ockelford

Professor of Music, University of Roehampton

Founder and Trustee of The Amber Trust

Dean Parsons

Head of Safeguarding, Wilkes Academy of Performing Arts

Rachel Pedley

UK Breakin'

Rosy Pigott

Dance teacher

Victoria Race

Safeguarding Consultant for the IDTA

Natalie Randhawa

Principal at Teddington Dance Studio

Lorraine Razzell

Principal, The Dance Barn

Matthew Searle

MBE FRSA – Safeguarding Lead, Governor, Consultant & LBT Global Chief Executive

Sarah Searle

BA (Hons) - former professional dancer and dance teacher, now parent and Operations Manager for a global crisis charity

James Stockdale

Director of Examinations and Senior Safeguarding Officer, RAD

Alison Stuart

Psychologist and former professional dancer and ballet teacher

Dr Denise Sweeney

University of Nottingham

Amanda Thompson

Primary school teacher and former professional dancer

Anna Valentine-Marsh

Safeguarding consultant and dance parent

Lisa Warnock

Independent Dance Artist, Dance Education Consultant and Teacher

Kathryn Williams

Director, Rubicon Dance

The Welsh Dance Theatre Trust - a social arts organisation

Tracy Witney

Head of Learning and Participation, Northern School of Contemporary Dance

If you are willing to contribute to this working group, please let us know